Bethany Jacobs’s These Burning Stars Wins the 2024 Philip K. Dick Award

This past weekend, Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust announced the winner of the 2024 Philip K. Dick Award: These Burning Stars by Bethany Jacobs. The award recognizes “distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States during the previous calendar year.”

These Burning Stars was published by Orbit in October. The first book of the Kindom trilogy, it received a starred review from Kirkus, who wrote: “An intricate plot for revenge drives this far-future SF political thriller. An exciting start from a fresh talent, offering emotional and political complexity plus plenty of interplanetary action.”

The judges gave a special citation to Rebekah Bergman’s The Museum of Human History (Tin House). This year’s other nominees were:

  • Danged Black Thing by Eugen Bacon (Apex Book Company)
  • Infinity Gate by M. R. Carey (Orbit)
  • Wild Spaces by S. L. Coney (Tordotcom)
  • Where Rivers Go to Die by Dilman Dila (Rosarium Publishing)

The judges for this year’s award were Kali Wallace (chair), Nicky Drayden, Gordon Eklund, Christopher V. Rowe, and Lisa Yaszek.

The Philip K. Dick Award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust, with the annual award ceremony sponsored by the Northwest Science Fiction Society. You can watch the recording of the ceremony, which was held at Norwescon, here. icon-paragraph-end

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top